Oh Taste And See

Developing Roots with God

2016-12-09-16

Video Link     Recording

12.8.16

Before you read this study, I want you to do me a favor. Close your eyes and image God…You probably can’t paint a picture of Him unless you think of the image of Jesus. So paint a picture of the actions of what love, kindness, gratitude, joy, and peace looks like. Hopefully you have positive thoughts. Try dwelling on one of your favorite scriptures that describe God in your life the most. Repeat it over and over slowly to get a good understanding of the scripture. One of my favorites is 1 Timothy 6:15-16:

“…God, the blessed and only Ruler, the King of kings and Lord of lords, who alone is immortal and who lives in unapproachable light, whom no one has seen or can see. To Him be honor and might forever.”

Also, Zephaniah 3:17:

“For the LORD your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.”

When you meditate on scripture it defines God in your perspective. It brings you closer to Him. If you are a beginning in the faith, you may not know how to meditate on the word of God. You may not have much interest. However, I guarantee you that you will not learn much about God if you do not have a desire to get to know Him. When you make up in your mind that you want to know who this infinite Creator is, your heart will search for Him and you WILL find Him. He will speak to you through His word. How? It’s all a matter of you growing a desire and praying for Him to speak to you. There, in His holy word, your roots will grow down into His love and keep you strong.

Over the past 3 days I have been dwelling on Mark 4:1-9 where Jesus gives the parable about the Sower. To get an understanding of what I am writing about, follow along in the scriptures. When reading the parable I thought of these questions:

  • What type of relationship do I have with my Heavenly Father?
  • How do I communicate with Him?
  • Do I consider myself close to God?
  • When was the last time I produced good fruit?

These are all important questions to ask ourselves every now and then so that we acknowledge God for who He is to us. Many times we think of ourselves more than we think of God and our relationship with Him. After all, our faith is about Him…right?

 

What I have listed here is an organized breakdown of what I read in Mark 4:1-9. To be precise with what Jesus talked about, I clarified in verses 13-20:

The Sower = the believer
The Seed = the word of God; the believer’s faith
The Ground = the believer’s heart; foundation or relationship with God
The Produce = the result from the depth of the foundation

2016-12-09-13

2016-12-09-10

2016-12-09-11

2016-12-09-12

After breaking down Mark 4:1-9, I had to ask myself which category of the sower I fit into. To be honest with myself, I have experienced all categories. But God continues to help guide me to be the sower that plants His word upon good ground. His intention is for us to know Him on an intimate level – to live a lifestyle of oneness with Him. This requires taking care of our spirit – feeding our soul with His word (from the Bible) and the positive things that come from Him. This calls for attentive time to know Him.

How Do I Develop Strong Roots?

  1. Believe in your heart
  2. Pray and meditate on scripture from the bible
  3. Consistently apply the word to your life
  4. Be patient in seeing results

 

When we come to know our Creator, we come to know ourselves, which in return plants us onto the right path towards our destiny.

 

I encourage you to consider this message and ask yourself which areas you are planting God’s word in your life. Are you planting on a path, on rocky ground, among thorns, or good ground? Go into prayer about this and ask God to show you where your relationship stands with Him.

 

 

Scriptures:

Psalm 25:4-5 NLT
Show me the right path, O Lord;

point out the road for me to follow.
Lead me by your truth and teach me,
for you are the God who saves me.
All day long I put my hope in you.

Ephesians 3:16-21 NLT
I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit.

Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong.
And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is.
May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.
Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.
Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen.

Ephesians 5:26 NLT
To make her holy and clean, washed by the cleansing of God’s word.

Psalms 51:10 NIV
Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

1 Timothy 6:15-16 NIV
…God, the blessed and only Ruler, the King of kings and Lord of lords, who alone is immortal and who lives in unapproachable light, whom no one has seen or can see. To Him be honor and might forever.

Zephaniah 3:17 NLT
For the LORD your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.

Always know that you are Chosen, you are Royal, you are Holy, and you are God’s Special Possession.
He has turned your darkness into light.
~* 1 Peter 2:9*~

~ Arnesjah

 

Leave a Reply

