Oh Taste And See

God Provides

img_5551-1

October 17, 2016

Day 113

Before I tell you about my testimony, I want you to take a moment to step into my shoes…Imagine living in a season of your life where you are completely uncomfortable, have unstable shelter, and receive minimum income. You’re waiting for a way to be made so that you can get back into alignment with your life. Plus, what you’re trying to pursue is only getting pushed back as you face adversity. If you are where I am, or you have been in a similar circumstance, does the thought make you worry and wonder how you’re going to make it to next week? Do you feel as though God’s movement is no where to be found? Is it difficult to find answers for the next step you should take? Does it seem like you’re climbing a neverending mountain? Is God even requiring you to give more than what you’ve expected?

Well, just remember that there is always hope in our circumstances. He will never leave us nor forsaken us. The very season we are in is created to strengthen us and to stretch our faith so that we can surmount new horizons. But before we can get to the greater horizons, God wants you to know that He will provide! I’m on day 113 of my faith walk journey. Lately, I’ve been getting sign after sign about selling my possessions and giving the money to the poor. Literally, Saturday morning I was given a text message from Luke 18:18-27. I weeped because even though I had little, God was still requiring me to give up the little that I owned.

Today, I encountered a remarkable moment of our Heavenly Father showing me the way He provides. I pulled up to an apartment building to rest in the shade. As I parked my car, I saw a puppy walking in the grass. I remember seeing this puppy before in the apartment building’s hallway. The first thought that came to mind was “this dog is lost and hungry”. As I stepped out of the car, the dog walked up to me. I didn’t pet it, I just kneeled down and asked, “Are you lost?” I observed the dog as it sniffed me. By the way, I’m not the best interpreter of dog genders but I sense that the dog is a male.
After he sniffed me he slowly walked away. I quickly reached in the back of my car and grabbed a banana. I whistled and he came back to me. I broke off a piece of the banana, he sniffed it, grabbed a bite and ran to his corner. I broke off small pieces of another banana and placed it in the middle of the parking lot. I sat in the back of my car and watched him from a distance. He hesitantly inched back to grab another bite.

Seconds later, I heard him gasping as if he was about to puke. I was worried that I had given him the wrong type of food. So I googled “Human Foods to Give Dogs” and saw that oatmeal and apples were okay. I grabbed a small container that I was saving in my storage tub and placed raw oatmeal, nuts and seeds, and bitten pieces of an apple in the container.

I was reminded of the scripture, Matthew 6:25-30 where Jesus tells us that God will provide for us. If He provides food for the birds, He will provide for us. We should not worry about how our needs with be provided because He will give us just what we need in the perfect timing. If He cares so wonderfully about the wildflowers that are here today and thrown in the fire tomorrow, wouldn’t He care for the value of His own people?


I was used as God’s provision for this hungry dog. It’s not coincidence that he came up to me and ate the food that I gave him. God is seemingly telling me to give to those who have less and provide them with their needs through love His love. Those who are hungry in the streets need an outpouring of God’s love and mercy. If I give to the least, I have also given to Him.

Matthew 25:40 says,

“And the King will say, ‘I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me!’” 

Jesus was explaining the Kingdom of God. He was explaining how the King will welcome believers who have seen the hungry and fed them. Seen the thirsty and gave them drink. And even invited a stranger into their home. The very acts that believers had done to those in need were also giving to God.

It makes my heart glad to see the joy in this puppy. When I walked back over to the dish to put water in it he kept jumping up to me. He was so grateful and glad to have food and water. The joy came out of this dog. I imagined how many people are on the street, hungry and thirsty and need shelter. This has to be confirmation as to what God wants me to do for His people; to bring the joy out of them. I was weeping over giving my possessions away. But how many people are weeping because they have nothing to own?! I needed to suck it up because God will RESTORE! If I can give freely to a dog and receive joy out of it, then imagine how much God is rejoicing over me with joyful songs. These are the acts of love that bring Him glory.

“…when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me!”


Helpful Scripture

Psalms 62:8 NASB

“Trust in Him at all times, O people; Pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us. Selah.”

Psalm 91:1-2 NASB

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High Will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say to the LORD, “My refuge and my fortress, My God, in whom I trust!”

Psalm 27:13-14 NLT

“Yet I am confident I will see the LORD’s goodness while I am here in the land of the living. Wait patiently for the LORD. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the LORD.”

Psalm 33:21-22 NLT

“In him our hearts rejoice, for we trust in his holy name. Let your unfailing love surround us, LORD, for our hope is in you alone.”

Always know that you are Chosen, you are Royal, you are Holy, and you are God’s Special Possession.
He has turned your darkness into light.
~* 1 Peter 2:9*~

~Arnesjah

Leave a Reply

