Oh Taste And See

My Grace is Sufficient for You

img_5441

10.7.16

Day 103 – My Grace is Sufficient for You

As I was headed to sleep around midnight Thursday morning, I kept hearing in my spirit, “My grace is sufficient for you.” I had just arrived to a friend’s house after a hard knocking day. I was growing frustrated with my current circumstance; traveling over 30 miles to and from work, not having a permanent place to live, and walking with no clue where I’m headed next. I was pounded with claustrophobia, seeking for peace in uncertainty. God had me dwell on the meaning of “My grace is sufficient for you.” What was He saying? What is exactly is grace and why am I having a hard time containing it?

I went to the Bible app on my phone to search for 2 Corinthians 12:9. I decided to read 2 Corinthians 12:7-10 so that I could get a full understanding of what God was trying to tell me. This scripture talks about how Paul had a thorn in his flesh, a messenger from Satan to keep him from exalting himself. Paul pleaded to the Lord three times for the messenger to leave him. But God only told him, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power (My strength) is perfected in weakness.” In this portion of scripture grace is the Greek word charis, which means kindness, good-will, or gratitude; the favor of Christ, assisting and strengthening his followers and ministers to bear their troubles (STRONGS NT 5485, 1987). Basically, the Lord was telling Paul that His grace is His loving kindness and mercy given to us during our trials. For the Lord’s power is perfected; it is revealed the most in weakness.

At this moment in my life, I feel like Paul with the thorn in his flesh. My thorn is my uncomfortable surroundings with uncertainty of knowing where I am heading. Waking up daily with bare minimum of what I own can feel like I’m being taunted by a bully that reminds me that I am not enough or I’ll never be promoted on my job to have my own. By the grace of God, I have not allowed those thoughts get the best of me. I have not sunk and simmered on my current circumstance to the point of throwing in the towel. Thank God I have a grateful heart that is big enough to be okay with sleeping in my car at times. I am blessed to have friends and strangers who are willing to let me stay at their home temporarily. It is all by the grace and favor of God. To be honest, I have my days where I am completely stressed with all of the weight on my shoulders. But instead of me throwing a temper tantrum I pray effectively and fervently. Our Heavenly Father cannot ignore His children’s’ cry. He takes up our burdens with His care. For when we are weak, He makes us strong.

One thing I always remember is that I am not alone. Maybe you are currently in a season of your life where you have a thorn in your flesh. Perhaps you are out of your comfort zone, facing temptation, lost in wonder, or walking in a dry season. Keep your head up and know that God’s grace is sufficient for you. His power is made perfect in your weakness. He may be the only one whom you can count on. Friends may say they are for you but deep down in their heart they can care less. Family may not understand where you are in your relationship with the Lord. It’s all good because the Lord is turning things around for your good and His glory.

To keep your mind off of what it looks like, stay focused on what the word of God says. You may have to prioritize and create time with Him in order to keep your head in faith. Be thankful throughout every circumstance because this is God’s will for those who are in Christ (1 Thes. 5:18). Take moments out of your day to create peace and silence for just you and Jesus. Sit in your car, the bathroom, a closet, or anywhere quiet. Speak life over yourself:

“Lord, even with what it looks like, You are still good.”    “I praise You Father.”      “Your grace is sufficient for me.” “Jesus I love you.” “My future is worth it. The lives that will be saved are worth it.”    “I will walk by faith and not by sight.” “The joy of the Lord is my strength.”  God, you thoughts are higher than my thoughts. Your ways are far beyond anything I can imagine.”

When you meditate on the word of God, you are allowing His alive and powerful word to resonate in your soul. It brings life, peace, and harmony with the Holy Spirit. When we are not transparent during prayer and meditation, we create friction and blockage of God’s presence to impact us in full. So be transparent. You might just find the very treasure within your time with the Lord. Here are helpful scriptures:

2 Corinthians 12:9 NASB
And He has said to me,
“My grace is sufficient for you,
for power is perfected in weakness.”
Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses,
so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.

Psalms 62:8 NASB
Trust in Him at all times, O people;
pour out your heart before Him;
God is a refuge for us.

Matthew 11:28-30 KJV
Come unto Me,
all that labor and are heavy laden,
and I will give you rest.
Take my yoke upon you, and learn of Me;
for I am meek and lowly in hear:
and ye shall find rest unto your souls.
For My yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

 Isaiah 65:24 NLT
I will answer them before they even call to me.
While they are still talking about their needs,
I will go ahead and answer their prayers!

Philippians 4:6 NLT
Don’t worry about anything;
instead, pray about everything.
Tell God what you need,
and thank Him for all He has done.

Psalm 16:8 ESV
I have set the Lord always before me;
because He is at my right hand,
I shall not be shaken.

 

It is my prayer that you have an understanding of our Heavenly Father’s grace. If you are in a season of uncertainty and discomfort, remember that this is all temporary. This too shall pass. Embrace this season because it is preparing you for the next season He has in store. You are where you are because you said yes.
Trees cannot grow without sprouting its roots.
And eagles cannot fly without growing their wings.
Don’t give up my friend!
Jesus is with you!

Always know that you are Chosen, you are Royal, you are Holy, and you are God’s Special Possession.
He has turned your darkness into light.
~* 1 Peter 2:9*~

~Arnesjah

Works Cited
STRONGS NT 5485. (1987). 5485. charis. Retrieved from Bible Hub: http://biblehub.com/greek/5485.htm

Photography Picture – Anthony C. Ettienne-Modest, Modeste Photography

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

