Oh Taste And See

Overcoming Gluttony


 

For those who are unfamiliar with gluttony is, it is defined as greed in the means of excessive eating or drinking. To be more specific, I am touching down on Binge Eating which is an eating disorder where someone overeats to fulfill cravings to the point of discomfort. It can become a dangerous mechanism for dealing with temporary emotions. It leads an individual into an accumulation of shame, depression, low self-esteem, and guilt. Binge Eating is not an easy subject to talk about for many people. It is rarely talked about in the body of Christ. Binge Eating is a sin and it is a spirit that must be exposed and defeated in anyone who has been fighting with it.

This has not been an easy subject for me to share with others. But God has ruffled my spirit to share it transparently. At this moment my church is fasting for the month of October. During any fast our intention is to focus on drawing nigh unto God as He intends to draw nigh unto us. We change up our eating habits with the purpose of denying our flesh or our will for the sake of hearing from our Heavenly Father God. During seasons of fasting, we can easily fall into the habit of excessively eating on foods that we are allowed to eat for the sake of fulfilling the cravings of food that we cannot eat. To be quite honest, I have found myself excessively eating after I sustained from food for a few hours. My body was saying, “I want real food and I want it NOW!” Although my flesh wanted one thing, I have learned to subject it to obedience of self-control.

For as long as I could remember, Binge Eating began with me when I was a child. I used to over eat because of the great taste of food. As if it was some form of addiction residing in me I had to have food everywhere I went. My mom used to tell me, “Take a snack with you just in case…” In that case I had a snack in my backpack, in my class desk, purse, and even behind my bed throughout the night. It was HORRIBLE. People would always call me greedy. I would laugh about it, but little did I know that I had an eating disorder.

Growing up in my teens, I remember sitting on the couch munching on food for hours until I was stuffed. Even during holiday dinners I would over eat until I couldn’t breathe. I literally thought this habit was normal. As I reflect over these years of my life, I wonder why I never thought that this was a problem. I am JUST NOW facing this battle and I am 22 years old. Thank God He brought this to my attention because imagine how difficult it would be to break this stronghold in my 30s, 40s, 50s and up!

Many times after I fasted whether I didn’t eat for x amount of hours/days or I sustained from certain types of food, I would sometimes storm into eating foods that my body craved. If I wanted pizza I would go get it. If I wanted 3 bowls of cereal I would make up an excuse to eat it. If I wanted chips I would eat the entire bag. I would do all of this at once just to fulfill the desires of my flesh.

What brought me to a breaking point was a few days after I finished a 4-day fast of not eating anything. I found myself strung out in my emotions one night. I ate a full dinner plate, about 4 saltine crackers with hummus, a hand full of peanuts, and a bowl of granola cereal. How did I not explode? I do not know! Afterward I could hardly breathe and I could hardly pray. I became guilty and disgusted with myself. God brought to my attention that I was harming my relationship with Him as well as harming my body. The next day, I spoke with my aunt and she shared with me how she battled with Binge Eating and how God has helped her overcome the disorder. She said it is all mind over matter.

My aunt told me that we have to remember that our bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit (1 Cor. 6:19). If our bodies are a place where the Holy Spirit is supposed to dwell, then this means that we ought to make room for Him by instilling His character within our souls. Wherever we lack self-control it leaves an open door for the enemy to hinder the full residence of the Holy Spirit. Therefore, when we lack self-control in our eating habits we open the door for the spirit of addiction to take over. We have to cast that spirit down and subject it to the obedience of Christ!

After putting my foot down to pray about my eating disorder, I asked God to truly help me defeat this habit. I cried out to Him told Him that I wanted deliverance from ALL addictions big and small. He worked with me and even up to this day deliverance is mine! These are the positive replacement habits that God has led me to do:

  • Speak scripture when wanting to unnecessarily snack. (Luke 10:19, 2 Cor.10:5; Psalms 119:10, 11, 35, 36; Psalms 141:2, Psalms 16:8, 1 Cor. 6:19)
  • Remind myself of the results of overeating.
  • Pray and cast down thoughts when sensing emotions arising.
  • Practice patience and sitting still.
  • Commit to a time to spend with Jesus during the evening before going to sleep.
  • Stop buying foods that trigger cravings (Candy, ice cream, certain chips, and cookies).

All of these tips are helpful and I encourage you to be intentional with overcoming any addiction you may have. It’s all mind over matter. Do you want to be defeated? I assume you do not. So don’t allow the enemy to attack you. Remember that you are more than a conqueror! We may have to ask ourselves, “Am I really going to allow this eating thing get the best of me?!” Your relationship with God is more valuable than sitting on the couch eating for hours. The time you spend browsing on your phone and eating could be time spent with Lord.

I encourage you to truly take heed to this area of your life and give it to the Lord. The addiction stops NOW! If you truly want to be delivered from Gluttony/Binge Eating, give it all to Jesus. He wants you healed, delivered, and set free in every area of your life big and small! Fast and pray about it. Be intentional in your daily life. If you are truly ready to overcome Binge Eating say this prayer with me:

Lord Jesus, Your word tells me to call out to you and you will answer me. You will be with me in times of difficulty and You will deliver me (Ps 50:15). I give You honor and glory for the healing, deliverance, and freedom taking place even now. Thank you for bringing to my attention my bad eating habits. I repent for allowing it to take place of my relationship with You. I have set You before me Lord, you hold me by my right hand; I shall not be shaken (Ps 16:8). I shall not be shaken by my emotions nor the ways of the world. Father, I pray that you fill any voids and deliver me from addictions, strongholds, and bondage. It is You, Jesus, that I want in my heart. My body is the temple of the Holy Spirit (1 Cor. 6:19). Therefore, I honor you with my body and not the cravings of my flesh. I desire to be a pure vessel and live in the image you have created for me.

Lord Jesus, I come BOLDLY and CONFIDENTLY unto Your throne of grace so that I may receive mercy and find grace in the time of need (Heb. 4:16). I believe that all things are possible with you. So I believe that I am FREE from the spirit of gluttony even now! I cast down every imagination that exalteth itself against the knowledge of Christ and I bring into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ (2 Cor. 10:5). I pray that you will fill every void that food has taken over my life. I have been given the authority to overcome snakes and scorpions and to overcome ALL the power of the enemy; nothing will harm me (Lu 10:19). With the help of Your Spirit I have authority over every addiction that has taken place in my life! I claim my healing, deliverance, and freedom RIGHT NOW!

In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Always know that you are Chosen, you are Royal, you are Holy, and you are God’s Special Possession.
He has turned your darkness into light.
~* 1 Peter 2:9*~

~Arnesjah

Leave a Reply

