Words of Encouragement

Trusting God Through The Storm

img_3591-2
When it storms, be determined to outshine darkness.

I awakened this morning realizing what all God has done over the past week. I was experiencing much stress, hunger, and patience in my spirit. This morning I was reminded that when we fail in any area of our lives, our Heavenly Father picks us up. Since I know the God that I serve, I have not soaked and simmered in the pain of my failures because He says that I have another chance to try again. I see that He is merciful, loving, and faithful. This past week I have prayed and fasted, allowing God to detox not only my body, but most of all my spirit so that I could get back in balance.
The photo shoot yesterday revealed a great analogy in trusting God. Earlier in the day, it started to storm. I began to worry about plans not following through. I was worried about my hair, makeup and outfit. I began thinking of a plan B. However, I knew that I had to follow through because I had no other day to complete this assignment. Once the photographer and I arrived at the beach, I knew that we had chosen the perfect spot. I grew a sense of peace. The rain was off and on but I still trusted that the photo shoot would still be successful.

There were scenes of rocks, grass, a wooden swing, a stream with rocks, and the waves were moving with ease. In the far distance I could see a line of rain coming our way in a countless number of minutes. Somehow, I was at peace without fear or worries. We focused on nailing the photo shoot without allowing the distant rain to stop us.
The photographer and I went from the wooden swing set, to rocks in a stream, then onto the beach where the clouds drew closer with rage. It was like facing Goliath with no rocks and sling shots. The clouds were opening up, slowly sweeping across the sea. We captured beautiful shots; however, the wind was picking up speed. Even though the wind was nearly sweeping me off of my feet and the rain was piercing my skin, we continued to shoot because we were determined to fight against the wind and rain.
This scene captured the story of my life. It reminded me of the storms that occur in our lives. Who is going to win? Are we going to allow the storm to take over our moment to shine? I asked myself, “Who is stronger, the storm or you?” God helped me to realize the authority, power, and strength that is given to us. We are given the same advocate that was in Jesus (John 14:26). We have the access to the Holy Spirit whom gives us the authority, power, and strength to overcome the storms in our lives.

When storms come, it may look frightening. We may feel weak to stand against the darkness and principalities of the spirit world. Yet God has us the entire time, holding us in His right hand. He tells us that we are light in this dark world. Our beauty, our presence, our spirit has been renewed to outshine the storms in our lives. So we cannot allow the giant storm to ruin our plans.
As the photographer and I were quickly heading to the car, we had to walk through a large stream (which I named the Jordan River) with rocks on the bottom. Here is where the photographer resembled God to me. He held my hand in his right hand, indicating that we were going to move quickly and he was not going to let me fall. As we walked through the “Jordan River”, he guided me by pointing out where the big rocks were and where to step. Isaiah 41:13 says, “For I hold you by your right hand— I, the LORD your God. And I say to you, ‘Don’t be afraid. I am here to help you.” This is the message of trusting God!

We all experience hard times of trusting in our Creator; especially when we are faced with a giant storm. But when those moments of uncertainty comes, will we use what His word says in Philippians 4:6, “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.”?

When trouble comes our way, will we speak James 1:2-3 over our lives “Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles of any kind come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow.”?

In our seasons of waiting, will we believe Isaiah 40:31, “But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.”?

We have to learn to trust God through the storms in our lives. We may fall, but He picks us back up. Many times we are faced with the same test because we did not pass the last one. Those tests are an indication that we need to rid toxic emotions out of our spirit. We may feel weak and against praying our way through the storm. We may want to give up. We may not hear our Heavenly Father as we want to. But He is with us EVERY MOMENT of our lives. 1 Peter 5:7 tells us to give all our worries and cares to God, for he cares about us. He takes up the capacity our of our sins and weaknesses so that we do not have to carry guilt, discouragement, and fear in us. We just have to BELIEVE He is doing it all for our good.

“Trusting God Through the Storm”. This eye opening moment renewed my spirit. I have received a great awakening in this moment of my life. It is my prayer that you receive this message as well. With knowing our Creator, we are able to stand firm during the storms in our lives. Don’t let the darkness stop your light from shining. You deserve every moment of joy, freedom, peace, and deliverance.

Always know that you are Chosen, you are Royal, you are Holy, and you are God’s Special Possession.
He has turned your darkness into light.
~* 1 Peter 2:9*~

~ Arnesjah


 

2 thoughts on “Trusting God Through The Storm

  1. Arnesjah you are Amazing! Thank you!
    The beauty about being in a storm is that there is calmness and peacefulness that the observer gets to witness before the storm is impactful. When we allow ourselves to be at peace with the storm we can then embody the force that the storm brings and transform all its energy into an unbelievable positive force. That positive force (spirit) will change our perspective and provide guidance and preparation for the next storm. Embrace the next storm with peace of mind and acceptance. As it storm comes to cleanse the unwanted; it empties the trash, and renews the spirit so that the spirit can grow and allow you to manifest to your highest pure potentiality. Be! The moment is greater than past. So truly embracing the moment will bring the best that is yet to come. Just Be Still! And don’t come in the way of your BEING! Yes, enjoy the moments! They are all so valuable. Yes! The bad moments are possibly the best moments because they too help define YOU! At times the moments are so short lived that we fail to account for them during certain instances. Promise yourself to record the subtle nuances of your life. It will do a disservice to you and others if one miss out on the moments of living and accounting for one’s interactions. When we choose to align with the past while still hoping that the future is promised we miss out on the moments of living. Only the moment is promised. So love to love the storm like you love to love the calm, peaceful current of the ocean. Thank you, Arnesjah for such a lovely post. I AM GRATEFUL! “Stay Vibrant & Proceed with Love!” ~ The Modeste Photography Way

    Like

  2. Arnesjah you are Amazing! Thank you!
    The beauty about being in a storm is that there is calmness and peacefulness that the observer gets to witness before the storm is impactful. When we allow ourselves to be at peace with the storm we can then embody the force that the storm brings and transform all its energy into an unbelievable positive force. That positive force (spirit) will change our perspective and provide guidance and preparation for the next storm. Embrace the next storm with a peace of mind and acceptance. As the storm comes to cleanse the unwanted; it empties the trash, and renews the spirit so that the spirit can grow and allow you to manifest to your highest pure potentiality. Be! The moment is greater than the past. So truly embracing the moment will bring the best that is yet to come. Just Be Still! And don’t come in the way of your BEING! Yes, enjoy the moments! They are all so valuable. Yes! The bad moments are possibly the best moments because they too help define YOU! At times the moments are so short lived that we fail to account for them during certain instances. Promise yourself to record the subtle nuances of your life. It will do a disservice to you and others if we miss out on the moments of living and not accounting for our interactions. Thus, when we choose to align with the past while still hoping that the future is promised we miss out on the moments of living. Only the moment is promised. So love to love the storm like you love to love the calm, peaceful current of the ocean. Thank you, Arnesjah for such a lovely post. I AM GRATEFUL! “Stay Vibrant & Proceed with Love!” ~ The Modeste Photography Way

    Like

Leave a Reply

