Oh Taste And See

The Beauty in Circumstances


This is the conversation that I had with God while walking along the beach this evening. The words in quotation marks is God speaking. Anything else is my response.

“As you stand here, what are the waves doing?”
Washing up broken shells and crashing into my feet.

“As you stand here, what do the waves remind you of?”
Circumstances. They come out of nowhere, crashing into my life. Bring up things that I thought were already deceased in my life.

“Do you have control over the waves of the sea?”
No, I do not.
“Neither do you have control over the circumstances that I bring.”

“Be still and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations. I will be exalted in the earth.” (Psalm 46:10)

“Just as the waves excessively come crashing into you, so do your circumstances of life. You look beyond the horizon and you see a never ending body of water. You do not know what is coming your way, but you trust that I am protecting you from all harm. There is so much more for you to learn. And there is much more that you have not seen nor heard. Just as you remain still on this side of the land, be still during your circumstances and know that I have you in My powerful right hand.” (Psalm 63:8)

“As you stand here, how does your legs feel?”
My legs are stiff. I can feel my muscles keeping me firmly planted in the ground. My upper body is relaxed, but my legs are strong to keep me from falling down. Just as my legs are keeping me standing, so are You holding me. I should be at peace because Your word tells us to rest in You while You fight our battles (Exodus 14:14).

“You see, there are not always bad things that come out of circumstances. Look at how My people are looking for the beauty from what the waves bring upon the shore. They are fearlessly seeking for value. They are seeking for life. They are seeking for treasure. They know that they will find what they are looking for and they won’t stop until they are satisfied.”

It seems as if these people are not allowing the waves to stop them from finding what they are looking for. This reminds me to keep seeking for Your help in the midst of the problems in my life. To strive to create something good out of my circumstance. To give You the glory and cling to you even though it may be difficult.

There are not always dead things that come out of circumstances. Circumstances may bring life to us; causing us to realize how much we have grown and how much strength we have gained. Circumstances gives us strength and strength develops character (Romans 5:5). There is life in all of the things that He brings to us. Just as there is life that comes from circumstances, there is a possibility for the waves to bring life upon the shore.

“So if you remain still long enough, you might just find something beautiful. You may find life washing upon the shore.”

I turned around to my right and saw a colorful shell lying in the sand. As I was walk towards it, I remembered that it was the same shell that I was trying to catch while standing still in the water. This shell was alive with a mollusk living inside of it. This is an analogy of the life that God brings out of our circumstances.

Always know that you are Chosen, you are Royal, you are Holy, and you are God’s Special Possession.
He has turned your darkness into light.
~* 1 Peter 2:9*~

~Arnesjah

Leave a Reply

